Constitutional functions of the National Assembly

Natalia Kiselova


The article presents the distinction between the functions of the National Assembly – „political” and „constitutional”. The constitutional parliamentary functions are divided into three groups - legislative, constitutive and control. Each function is analyzed by virtue of specific powers of the National Assembly. Elements of the rationalization of parliamentarism in recent times in Europe are also found in the Constitution of the Republic of Bulgaria. On the one hand, the powers of the political institution have been enriched, with the possibility of parliamentary oversight of the authorities activity, which the National Assembly forms in whole or in part. On the other hand, within the parliamentary control function, the Constitution establishes a clear boundary between the parliamentary control over the executive power and the possibilities for seeking collective political responsibility.


parliamentarism rationalized, constitutional functions, legislative function, constitutive function, control function, parliamentary control, parliamentary oversight


284 downloads since 13.12.2017 г.
NA / Bulgaria / Cote D'Ivoire / Europe / France / Germany / Ireland / Russian Federation / Spain / Ukraine / United Kingdom / United States